Chaos Mind getting into order

cloning virtual machines on VMWare Server 2.x

Posted on: 2009/07/07

I’ve been using for a while the VMWare Server 2.x for Linux and I’m quite happy with it. Unfortunately, this free product doesn’t offer some useful functionalities like cloning a virtual machine. It’s a pity because it’s time consuming to create all the virtual machines from scratch.

Fortunately, cloning a virtual machine is easy process but doing it manually it’s not free of error-proning. So, I created a small and simple bash script to handle this process automatically, smoothly and clean. The script, called vmclone (oh, I’m so original!!), is available at my github account for the public to use it.

Let me warn you: it’s a very simple bash script that suits my needs and may not suit yours. Feel free to modify it and to send me some feedback or suggestions in order to improve it.

Have fun! 🙂

Deixe um comentário